SØR Rusche Collection - Abstraction and Colour – ONLINE ONLY

10 to 23 April 2020

Auction

10 to 23 April 2020, 6pm CET

Thomas Rusche's collection of contemporary art is the result of a dialogue between contemporary art and Old Masters. It is therefore not surprising that there are many figurative works in the collection. But that the collection also contains many fascinating abstract works is what our online auction in April will be about.

The theme "Abstraction and Colour" addresses two significant design features in art. It goes without saying that colour has been an indispensable means of creating art since the beginnings of painting. However, over the centuries it has undergone a reinterpretation. In the art of the Middle Ages, each colour had a meaning that the viewer could "read" in order to better understand the statement of the painting. For example the colours red and blue stood for purity like that of the Virgin Mary, in whose garment they are almost always found.

Impressionism, too, primarily used color to express its own message that an object can change its appearance and character when seen in different light moods and at different times of day.

A revolution in the use of colour was carried out by Expressionism, which separated colour from the object and shocked viewers with green skin colour and orange trees.

Among the contemporaries of the SØR Rusche Collection, we now find everything from the pure pleasure of color composition, masterfully expressed by Pius Fox, to the subtle suggestion of an atmosphere in David Schnell's highly complex prints.

Compared to color composition, abstraction is a young discipline in the history of fine arts. Just as with color, the detachment from the object has given artists an almost revolutionary freedom.

The transition from figuration to abstraction is not hard-cut, but the transitions are fluid. Jochen Plogsties places a fish, which can be recognized at first glance and is true to detail, in a surrounding that suggests enough light and shadow to create a perspective and a clearing. Even if a fish in a forest clearing does not yet appear abstract enough, the form that accompanies the fish is almost completely dissolved and can no longer really be recognized.

The interplay of clearly defined to dissolved form is also found in Christian Achenbach's work. Rough brushstrokes, colour stains and blobs meet with defined geometric figures and patterns and together they become an exciting composition.

With 128 works in the price range from 100 to 3,000 euros.


Register & Bid

You can find all information about our online sales under Register & Bid Online Only.

Revocation Instruction

You have the right to cancel this contract without provision of the grounds within fourteen days. For further information, please refer to the Revocation Instruction & Form section.

SØR Rusche Collection - Abstraction and Colour – ONLINE ONLY

10. bis 23. April 2020

Auktion

10. bis 23. April 2020, ab 18 Uhr

Thomas Rusches Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst ist entstanden aus dem Dialog aktueller Kunst mit Alten Meistern. Dass es in der Sammlung viele figurative Werke gibt, ist daher nicht verwunderlich. Dass die Sammlung jedoch auch viele faszinierende abstrakte und abstrahierende Werke enthält, darum soll es in unserer Online Auktion im April gehen.

Das Thema „Abstraction and Colour“ spricht zwei maßgebliche Gestaltungsmerkmale in der Kunst an. Dass Farbe seit den Anfängen der Malerei ein unabdingbares Gestaltungsmittel ist, versteht sich von selbst. Jedoch hat sie im Lauf der Jahrhunderte eine Umdeutung erfahren. In der Kunst des Mittelalters stand jeder Farbe eine Bedeutung zu, die der Betrachter „lesen“ konnte, um die Aussage des Dargestellten besser zu verstehen. So standen die Farben rot und blau für Reinheit wie die der Muttergottes, in deren Gewand sie fast immer zu finden sind.

Auch der Impressionismus bediente sich in erster Linie der Farbe, um die ihm eigene Botschaft auszudrücken, dass ein Objekt sein Aussehen und seinen Charakter verändern kann, wenn es in verschiedenen Lichtstimmungen und zu verschiedenen Tageszeiten gesehen wird.

Eine Revolution im Umgang mit der Farbe vollführte der Expressionismus, der die Farbe vom Gegenstand loslöste und mit grüner Hautfarbe und orangefarbenen Bäumen die Betrachter schockierte.

Bei den Zeitgenossen der SØR Rusche Collection nun findet sich alles von der reinen Lust an der farbigen Komposition, meisterhaft beherrscht von Pius Fox bis hin zur subtilen Anmutung einer Atmosphäre in den perspektivisch hochkomplizierten Druckgrafiken David Schnells.

Die Abstraktion ist im Vergleich zur Farbgestaltung eine junge Disziplin in der Geschichte der bildenden Kunst. Genau wie bei der Farbe hat die Loslösung vom Gegenstand den Künstlern eine geradezu revolutionäre Freiheit verschafft.

Der Übergang von der Figuration zur Abstraktion ist dabei nicht hart abgegrenzt, sondern die Übergänge sind fließend. Jochen Plogsties setzt einen auf den ersten Blick zu erkennenden, detailgetreuen Fisch in eine Fläche, die genug Licht und Schatten andeutet, dass eine Perspektive entsteht und eine Lichtung vermutet werden kann. Selbst wenn ein Fisch auf einer Waldlichtung noch nicht abstrakt genug erscheint, so ist doch die Form, die den Fisch begleitet, fast völlig aufgelöst und nicht mehr wirklich zu erkennen.

Das Wechselspiel von klar umrissener zu aufgelöster Form findet sich auch bei Christian Achenbach. Wüste Pinselstriche, Farbnasen und –kleckse gehen mit definierten geometrischen Figuren und Mustern eine spannungsgeladene Komposition ein.

Mit 128 Werken in der Preisspanne von 100 bis 3.000 Euro.


"5 Sterne Kunst"   Beitrag von Dr. Teresa Bischoff 


Bieten und Registrieren

Alle Informationen rund um unsere Online Auktionen finden Sie unter Online Only Bieten & Registrieren

Dr. Dr. Thomas Rusche spricht persönlich über zwei Werke der thematisch kuratierten ONLINE ONLY Auktion "Abstraction and Colour".